Become the Student

What does a great teacher look like? | Pursuit by The University ...

One of the things that took me a while to learn in my early days as a teacher was that I didnt know everything. I will be the first to admit that coming out of university I was probably a little too full of self-confidence in my own ability. I believed that I knew more, was more up to date and cutting edge than my colleagues and that they, by and large, needed to learn from me. How mistaken I was, and how I wish I could return to those early days and become a better listener. One other area in those early days where I let my pride get in the way was belief that I was the teacher, they were my students and that I taught them, and they learnt from me. What I quickly learnt is that students can teach us as much as we can teach them, and we need to be willing to swallow our pride and let ourselves be open to a role swap.

The obvious place that comes to mind when it comes to learning from the students is technology. Once upon a time when setting an assignment involving the use of technology I would assign the platform; submit via powerpoint, make an imovie, use wordpress to create your blog. This was simply because these were the platforms that I was comfortable with and therefore felt that if a student needed help, that I could assist. What I have learnt is that students have a suite of options that they can use, that they know more about various programmes than I could possibly ever hope to know and that they are very quick to learn and adapt to new technologies. This letting go is difficult, like the first time my son in frustration took the TV remote off me to programme it because I was taking too long. We have to swallow our pride and let them go for it. The great things that happen from this is that we get the chance to learn new things from the students. I’ve spent countless hours sitting with a student in class watching them manipulate some video editing software, or putting together a website. This has only made me stronger and opened possibilities for me to embed my new found skills in my teaching practice.

But there are so many other areas that students can profoundly teach you. Only today I was sitting with my Year 12’s and we got off topic (not unusual for me) to start to discuss culture and society. Essentially we ended up discussing the idea of the individual being a construct of society. They offered such deep thinking about their place in the world, how they are influenced by peers and the area they live and how they feel like there is an expectation on them to be something they may not necessarily want to be. So what did I learn? Apart from the reminder that the future is bright, these students taught me the value we place on the thoughts of others. They communicated that they need to stop caring what others think and just be the best version of themselves. As they sat there, my brain yelled out, LISTEN! you could learn something here.

Then there are the big moments that students teach. Ive written before about the girl who lost her mum and my night in the hospice cheering her up. If ever a student has taught me something it was her. The strength that young lady had to look at the most adverse circumstances and still hold her head up, laugh, and amazingly worry about me will stick with me forever. Those times when I’m feeling that its too hard I look back at her and her unbridled optimism and remind myself that what I am experiencing is nothing compared to that, and I need to look at the world through her eyes.

There is also content. I’ve lost count of the times that students have taught or told me something I didnt know in regards to the content we were looking at. As an English teacher there is always a range of perspectives and I love those moments when a student presents a viewpoint that hadn’t even crossed my mind. That is real learning and I always just look at the student and acknowledge that they had thought of something new to me and then I ask permission if I can use it in the future. I will never forget teaching a Year 8 English class the movie “Big Fish” and probably in my 25th time of viewing and analysing with the students, a young man puts up his hand and poses an idea so good that it completely changed my perspective of a central theme. Their chest always puffs up, which is fantastic, but from a selfish point of view they are doing a great job of making me look smarter.

I know that the students I have taught have made me a much better person. This is particularly in regards to humility. I am definitely far from perfect, and in my classroom I make plenty of mistakes. I have a tendency to be a little too sarcastic and, can at times, be somewhat dismissive. This has led, on occasion, to me crossing that line and, without intention, have offended a student. This is where I have learned some valuable lessons. That moment where I need to approach the student and apologise is truly humbling. It is here I learn some important lessons. Often, a student will accept the apology with an “its ok”. I have tended to not let that have me off the hook, but use it as moment to tell the student what they have taught me, how we all grow together and how I continually strive to be better.

Further on the humility, students tell you exactly what they think. That shirt doesnt suit you, you are going bald, have you been working out, I love your socks, you must be about 53 years old. There is nothing like a conversation with a student to keep you in your box. That said, I have definitely had some great fashion advice from my students, plenty have given me health and exercise tips and lots of pointed out to me that if I shaved my head I would somehow look less bald (I took that advice and have a number 4 haircut – they were right!). I think my favourite lesson from a student was the class when I first arrived on the Sunshine Coast who taught me how to surf. No, not in the ocean but on the classroom floor! It was so fun having a group of Grade 10 surfie boys teaching me how to “pop up”. Pity is has not really all that successfully transferred to the ocean. Never be afraid to embarrass yourself for the sake of a good wave and for learning.

We need to be prepared to put our ego aside and open ourselves up. Yes, we need to listen to other staff, experts and leaders but just as importantly we need to listen and learn from our students. Never be afraid to ask for feedback from the students both formally and informally. I jump at any opportunity to ask my students how they think my teaching is going, The feedback they give me is so valuable. Just last year I took part in a survey asking students about my teaching, From there, I learned that my feedback was apparently too complicated, that I needed to give more 1-1 help but even better was the positive feedback that I received. I think we can often be our own harshest critic and if you survey your students you will get some great feedback on both sides. Don’t be scared to ask them.

Our students can offer us so much and we can learn so many things from them. So make sure you always look at your students with curiousity, open your minds to their ideas, open your ears to what they say, and open your eyes to what they show you. But remember, when you can recognise a moment that you have learnt something from a student, make sure you acknowledge it and thank them. They will be thrilled, it will enhance your relationship and it is a big learning opportunity for them as well.

For further discussion on learning from our students and all things teaching, join our Facebook group; Australian Early Career Teachers Association

Leave a comment