Maybe I’m the Exception – A 2020 Reflection

It seems that for most people 2020 will go down as one of the worst years they have had. Obviously COVID has ravaged the world and few people would have not been affected in some form or other. We have seen the devastating effects of the virus in Europe, Asia and America whilst Australia has also had its hardship. My heart goes out to anyone for whom 2020 for one reason or another has been terrible. And I wish everyone a more happy and healthy 2021.

But without trivializing the awful nature for many of 2020, personally I would say that this year for me has been one of immense growth. 2019 was a particularly challenging professional (and thus personal) year for me. A number of things occurred that rocked me to my core and left me at the end of the year taking stock of myself as a teacher. The biggest part of that self-reflection was the realisation that through my 20+ years of teaching I have learnt some pretty massive things along the way. I also reflected that some of my proudest moments have come when I have worked with beginning teachers in a mentoring capacity. I had always loved working and helping grow beginning teachers whether they were new to a school or in pre-service capacity. Therefore, the start of 2020 the idea to reach out and support beginning teachers was created.

Those who know me, will agree that I tend to seriously undersell myself, so therefore what has transpired in 2020, in relation to working in this area, has been far beyond what I could have imagined. When I began the Facebook group Australian Early Career Teachers Association in April, I jumped for joy when I hit 10 members. Never would I dream that as we approach the new year there are 1500+ people actively involved in the page. My first blog about job interviews in May was written as a collection of meandering thoughts from my experiences on both sides of interview panels. It has now been read 568 times! I can only hope that has resulted in 568 new teachers feeling at least a little more confident. Now 12 blogs and 2500+ views later I realise that perhaps I do have something of value to contribute and I look forward to writing more valuable posts for beginning teachers in 2021.

So excuse my self- indulgence but this blog is to look back at 2020 and some of the great Facebook discussion posts and blogs. The aim is to give you some food for thought as you rest during this holiday season or at the very least a place to go to for reference later if you are looking for some reading.

*all pictures are hyperlinked.

Most Commented Piece – Not All Schools

Don't Fit In At Work? Here's The Truth. - Miriam Linderman

It so interesting that this is the piece that resonated with so many people and caused such a range of discussion. When I wrote it, it was to reach out to teachers who are struggling in their current school. Beginning teachers often (I did) will take any position at any school in order to secure employment. This can lead to clash of values, which in turn can often lead to beginning teachers questioning whether teaching really is for them. This post was designed to ask teachers to reflect on whether the issue that was causing the feelings of self doubt were not in fact them, but rather that they perhaps were not in the right place to be their best selves.

There were some incredible comments on this post, such as;

This is so true! My first placement was at a school where the principal was a bully, the teachers were mostly (there were a few really nice ones!) hostile to me and unhelpful, the admin staff were very hostile and unhelpful to the teachers.. it was awful! Almost made me not want to finish my degree.. my next placement at a different school was the polar opposite! It was the best experience and I truely loved it and ended up going back and doing relief there after!

This hit close to home for me. Yesterday I was offered my first teaching job… and I want to turn it down. My husband and my parents are telling me I am being silly but I feel like if I take this job I will not be representing the values that made me want to teach in the first place.Anybody else turn down the first job they were offered?

Facebook Sunday Sharing – Most Popular Post

Image may contain: text that says "aecTa SHARING SUNDAY In December we continue on our year in review: What do you hope your students remember most about you as a teacher in 2020?"

I love this topic! What a great way to self reflect at the end of year. I had two Year 12 classes this year and received some absolutely amazing cards from them on their departure. A few of those cards really hit home exactly what it was I wanted to be remembered by them this year. Those cards mentioned things like that I treat my students like people not children, that I am authentic and I how I give my all in each class. If the students are picking that up about me, then 2020 was definitely a success! But the discussion also had some great comments. These included;

That they felt safe – safe to ask for help, safe to try new things, safe to make mistakes

That they are capable of so much and can accomplish what they set their mind to! And all the fun we’ve had

That I kept them alive, even when I wasn’t sure if I wanted to.

Facebook Wednesday Wellbeing Post

Image may contain: text that says "WELL WEDNESDAY TIME TO SWITCH OFF WHAT DO YOU DO IN THE INITIAL WEEKS OF THE SUMMER HOLIDAYS TO ENSURE YOU SWITCH OFF FROM THE YEAR? zzZ z"

This post was fantastic! So many interesting tips from a range of locations. I live in Queensland so summer holidays are great! Even this morning I went for a 90 minute walk on the coast, before jumping in the ocean and finishing off with a coffee. However, the wellbeing posts this year really struck a chord with teachers. We do so often focus on the wellbeing of others that we forget ourselves. One of my top priorities is the wellbeing of beginning teachers, so Wednesday was always a massive highlight in the week for me.

This post did generate some great comments, so if you are unsure how to relax here are some tips;

Turn off email notifications (although I’ve had them off for most of this year), leave my laptop in my bag, plan some things to do in pretty places (walks, swims, explore etc).

Go nuts and clean my house! I can’t wait to clean all my carpets!

Sleep and Netflix. Sometimes together

Get very acquainted with a pile of books and my hammock

Biggest Hits on anything – Getting Ready for a Job Interview

Image result for job interview teacher interview questions and answers

I mentioned this post earlier in the blog and my intention for writing it. Job interviews are so hard, and we get so caught up in nerves, the anxiety and then the waiting, that we often forget to stop and take stock of what we have achieved in even getting there. Hopefully this blog strikes that balance between giving some practical advice but also celebrating the achievement of just getting to interview.

So whats in store?

I am so excited about 2021. The growth in the Facebook group means that our community gets stronger and stronger. I cannot wait for the discussions that will evolve, the questions asked and the support people give. The twitter community will continue to evolve and as it expands there are so many opportunities for live discussion there. I have plenty of ideas for blog posts but also would love any suggestions from readers. I have ideas in regards to offering more explicit individual support and of course I am open to whatever ideas and thoughts come may way. So Happy New Year! May 2021 be amazing and may it be full of great moments both professionally and personally.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image.png

Leave a comment